Frequently Asked Questions - Abandoned Throw
Abandoning a throw means that (except for being added to the score) the throw never happened. The original throw plus one penalty throw are counted in your score. When you abandon a throw, the resulting lie is disregarded, and any penalties incurred by that throw are disregarded as well.
QA-ABA-2: On a short, easy hole, I shanked my drive into a dense forest, and it stuck high up in a tree. The two-meter rule is in effect. I’d rather re-tee than play from in the forest. Will I be throwing 3, or 4?
You will be throwing 3 after declaring that you are abandoning your drive. You count your original throw and add one penalty throw for abandoning that throw. Penalties incurred by an abandoned throw are not counted.
QA-ABA-3: After throwing and picking up my marker I realize that I want to abandon the throw. Can I still do that even though that lie is no longer marked?
Yes, just have your group agree on an approximate lie from which the abandoned throw was made and play from there.