Main Menu

Official Rules of Disc Golf

Rules Questions and Answers

Last updated: Sunday, December 31, 2023 - 20:00

Application of the Rules

QA-APP-1: Is there a priority order for which violation should count if more than one rule applies?

Yes. The violation with the most severe penalty is applied. Ties are broken by what happened first. A single throw cannot be penalized for more than one violation.

QA-APP-2: When multiple violations have occurred on a single throw, how do I determine which rule was first violated, given that a rule has not been violated until the disc has come to rest?

The meaning of “first” in the rule is the common understanding of when the disc first enters a state where it is in violation of a rule. One common pair of rules that can be violated during a single throw are OB and Mandatory. As soon as a disc enters the restricted plane it is considered to have missed the mandatory, whereas a disc is not considered OB until it comes to rest. Therefore, the missed mandatory happened first.

QA-APP-3: Can I appeal a ruling that was made on another player in my group?

Yes. The affected player may then choose to play provisional throws.

QA-APP-4: My group thinks my disc is OB, but I think it’s unclear. Doesn’t benefit of the doubt go to the player? I’m safe, right?

Benefit of the doubt only comes into play as a tiebreaker when the group cannot make a decision, for example if two players see the disc as safe and two see it as OB. If a majority of your group thinks it’s OB, then it’s OB.

QA-APP-5: My group made a ruling that turned out to be wrong. They called me safe when I was actually OB, so I played from an incorrect lie. Do I get penalized?

You are responsible for playing the course properly. If you disagree with the group and an official is not readily available, play a provisional and have the TD make a ruling later.

QA-APP-6: What rules apply if I’m playing in an unsanctioned tournament or any other non-PDGA round?

If you are playing an event where it is announced that PDGA rules apply, then the Official Rules of Disc Golf apply, whether the event is sanctioned by the PDGA or not. The Competition Manual only applies to PDGA events. If no announcement has been made regarding the rules, you can play by whatever rules your group or the event participants agree on, including the PDGA rules.

QA-APP-7: What if there is no Tournament Director?

All PDGA-sanctioned tournaments have a Tournament Director. For non-sanctioned events or casual play, if anyone has authority over the players, they can take on the responsibilities of the Director. If no one wants to be the Director, then you will have to play without some of the functions of the Director. For example, there may not be any appeals of group rulings. Some Director functions may be available in other ways. For example, the course signage should tell you in what order to play the holes, where any out-of-bounds is, and other things that are normally covered in the players’ meeting or caddie book.

QA-APP-8: Everyone in my playing group is a certified official. Certain rules require either two players in the group or an official to make the call. Can just one of us make these calls since we’re all officials?

No. To make calls during tournament play, you must have been authorized by the Director as a Tournament Official. Passing the test does not make you a Tournament Official (referred to throughout the rules as an Official). Additionally, Officials have restrictions on making calls depending on whether they are playing or not. An Official (including the TD) who is playing cannot act as the sole Official for calls that affect players in their division. A non-playing Official can be the sole person to make a call where rules indicate an Official may make the call. A spotter can make calls (for example, regarding the position of a disc that has gone out-of-bounds) if they are also an Official. If they are not, their call should be considered as input for a group decision.

QA-APP-9: Can a player make or confirm a call on themself?



QA-THR-1: My throwing hand bumped a tree branch during my backswing, knocking the disc to the ground, and the disc rolled forward of my lie. Was that a throw?

No. A disc dropped or knocked out before or during a backswing does not count as a throw.

QA-THR-2: Are there any restrictions on how you throw the disc? For example, can you throw nothing but overhand shots?

There are no restrictions on how you throw the disc. You may throw backhand, sidearm, overhand, thumber, or any other way that occurs to you. You can throw it with your foot if you want.

Teeing Off

QA-TEE-1: How are teeing areas designated?

Directors may use any of several methods to define the teeing areas and drop zones. A single course may use more than one type of tee. When in doubt, ask the Director. Here are some common ways of designating teeing areas:

  • If an artificial tee pad is provided and has no markings, the teeing area is the area which contrasts with its surroundings in color, material, height, and/or texture.
  • Some tee pads are built with a follow-through area in front. The follow-through area may be a different color, or it may be the part in front of a marked tee line. The part of the pad which is behind the follow-through area is the teeing area.
  • If an outline is marked (whether a complete or partial line, or with four markers), the teeing area is the area within the outline. If markers are used, the teeing area is defined by the outside edges of the markers.
  • If no artificial tee pad is provided, the teeing area extends three meters perpendicularly behind the designated tee line. If a line marks the tee line, the teeing area includes the marked line. If two tee markers mark the tee line, the teeing area extends forward and outward to the outer edges of the tee markers.
  • If there is only a tee sign, or one tee marker, the tee is to one side of and behind the sign or marker.

QA-TEE-2: I threw my drive off a raised concrete tee pad. When I let go, the front of my foot was hanging off the front edge of the pad. Was that a stance violation?

No. The rule states that all supporting points must be within the teeing area at the time of release. “Supporting point” refers to any point on the player that is in contact with the playing surface (in this case the tee pad), rather than to a complete body part such as a foot. The part of the foot that is hanging off the end is not a supporting point because it is not in contact with the playing surface, so no violation has occurred.


QA-LIE-1: My throw landed on a bridge that spans an OB creek. Do I play from the bridge, or is my disc OB since it’s above the creek? What if I’m on the bridge but over land?

The TD will need to clarify their intentions in this situation. If the course rules are unclear, use a provisional. In general, if the edges of the water are the OB line, and if the disc is completely within that area, regardless of the item it is resting on, then the disc is considered OB. The out-of-bounds line extends a vertical plane (806.02.F). If any part of your disc is over the in bounds shore, then your disc is in bounds.

Marking the Lie

QA-MAR-1: An inexperienced player in my group flipped his disc to mark it and threw from there. What’s the call?

That is a marking violation since an improper method was used to mark the lie. A player’s first marking violation results in a warning.

QA-MAR-2: My disc is stuck in a tree, directly above the trunk. How do I mark it?

If there is room to mark your disc directly below it, that is what you do. If not, you mark at the first available spot back along the line of play.


QA-STA-1: A supporting point is defined as “any part of the player’s body” that touches the playing surface. However, there’s almost always a layer of clothing such as a shoe between the player’s body and the playing surface. Does that count?

Yes. The phrase “part of the player’s body” should be interpreted to include not only clothing but also mobility devices such as canes or crutches (as long as they are providing support).

QA-STA-2: Can I hold onto a branch or other object behind my lie while putting?

Holding on to something behind your lie for support is not prohibited by the rules, provided that the object is in-bounds. It also must not be moved, since you are required to take the stance that results in the least possible movement of obstacles on the course. You are not allowed to hold onto another person for support, as that person is not part of the course.

QA-STA-3: Our course has two horizontal rainwater run-off culverts that exit from the side of a hill into the fairway. They are about two feet in diameter with metal grills over their exits that have gaps big enough for discs to enter but not a player. If a disc enters a culvert, can the player simply mark on the hillside directly above their disc’s location in the culvert with no penalty since the disc is below the playing surface?

Yes. Inside the culvert is not a playing surface, but the hillside above it is. If the TD has not provided guidance on how to handle discs entering these culverts, then players can mark on the hillside directly above their disc with no penalty.

QA-STA-4: I have an uphill lie for a short putt. Can I place my back foot on the lie and my front foot on the ground ahead of the lie, then lift my front foot just before releasing? After throwing the disc my momentum takes me behind the lie. I call this a “fade-away” putt.

Yes, that is allowed. Your stance was legal when you released the disc, and you did not go past your lie (closer to the hole) after releasing.

Obstacles and Relief

QA-OBS-1: My drive ended up under a picnic table. Can I play from behind it? On top of it?

Picnic tables, along with any other park or course equipment, are obstacles on the course. They are to be treated as any other obstacles, for example a bush or a tree. How you play your next throw depends on the picnic table. If there is room for you to take a stance under it, even by sticking your leg underneath, that’s what you do. If your disc is on top of the picnic table and there is room underneath, it is a lie above ground, and you mark directly below it and play from there. If the disc is on top and there’s no room underneath, the table is treated as a solid obstacle, and you mark directly behind it on the line of play.

QA-OBS-2: A large broken branch (a foot in diameter and eight feet long) is in my stance. Am I allowed to move it?

Yes, if you are able. There is no limit on the size of a casual obstacle as long as it meets the definition. You can move it as long as that’s practicable and you throw within the 30 seconds allowed by the Excessive Time rule.

QA-OBS-3: My disc came to rest under a long, fallen tree branch. The branch is clearly detached from the tree and extends from behind my disc to in front of it. Can I move the branch?

Yes. If part of the branch is anywhere on the playing surface behind the front of your lie, you’re allowed to move it, even if another part is closer to the hole than the back of your marker.

QA-OBS-4: A loose, broken branch is hanging down just behind my marker, making it difficult for me to take a stance. It is not touching the ground. Am I allowed to move it? Do I get casual relief?

No. Since it is not on the playing surface behind your marker, it has the same status as a healthy, connected branch. You will have to play around it.

QA-OBS-5: Can I get relief from irritating plants such as poison ivy, poison oak, or nettles?

No, unless the Director has declared casual relief for them. Those plants affect players differently, and very rarely pose a serious health risk. If your disc goes into some plants and you don’t want to play from there, you can take optional relief, or abandon the throw, at the cost of a penalty throw.

QA-OBS-6: How do I mark my lie when my disc lands in an area of the course that has sensitive, protected, endangered, or valuable foliage?

The Director may declare an area to be OB or a Relief Area, in which case you mark your lie according to the relevant rule. If no special handling of the area has been announced by the Director, and you are prohibited from entering it, then it is a Relief Area, and you play according to the applicable rule. Note that you can take optional relief, or abandon the throw, at the cost of a penalty throw.

QA-OBS-7: What can I do about an unplayable, unsafe, or poorly marked tee?

If the problem with the tee is a casual obstacle that cannot be easily removed (such as standing water), you can take casual relief behind the tee. No relief is provided for other adverse tee conditions, though you can place a towel down to provide traction if the tee is slippery. If the tee is poorly marked, locate an Official or a local player in another group, if possible, to help identify the tee area boundaries.

QA-OBS-8: There’s a huge spider web right in front of me where I want to throw. Can I knock it down?

Only if at least some of it is on the playing surface behind the front of your lie, in which case it is debris and can be removed as a casual obstacle. If it’s only in your flight path or it doesn’t touch the ground, it cannot be moved.

QA-OBS-9: A player taking relief from obstacles or from a Casual Area can move back along the line of play to the first available lie. What is the “greater relief” that the Director can announce?

Greater relief could be a drop zone, a re-throw, or the ability to move the lie. Relief (moving the lie without penalty) is granted for situations that are out of the ordinary, so the Director has a lot of leeway to deal with exceptional situations.

Regulated Routes

QA-MAN-1: My throw went past the mandatory on the incorrect side, then rolled back around the other side and ended up short of the mando. Have I still missed it?

Once your disc has entered the restricted plane, the rest of the flight does not matter. You have missed the mandatory.

QA-MAN-2: I missed the mandatory, and no drop zone has been marked. Where is my lie?

You go back to your previous lie.

Establishing a Position

QA-POS-1: How do I mark a disc in an inaccessible location below the playing surface like a crevice? Is there a penalty?

The rules that apply to a disc above the playing surface also apply to a disc below the playing surface. If you can locate your disc in the crevice and no reasonable stance can be taken there, you can mark your lie directly above it on the playing surface without penalty. If the point directly above the disc is in the air or within a solid object, mark your lie at the first available spot back along the line of play.

Disc Above Two Meters

QA-2M-1: Is the two-meter rule still in effect?

By default, the two-meter rule is not in effect. The TD may choose to put it into play for as much of the tournament as they choose, including for particular obstacles. If that happens, it will be covered in the players’ meeting and/or the caddie book.

QA-2M-2: A disc supported by the target is not subject to the two-meter rule. What about a disc supported by other course equipment such as a tee or course sign?

That is still subject to the two-meter rule, as it is not a target. The only exception is the target for the hole being played, so if you somehow manage to get your disc stuck above two meters on a target for another hole, it is subject to the two-meter rule.

QA-2M-3: An Official ruled that my disc was more than two meters above the playing surface before I got there to take a look at it. Another player shook my disc down before I could mark the lie. The two-meter rule was in effect. What’s the ruling?

Since an Official has ruled, the two-meter penalty is applied, and the lie is placed directly below where your disc had stuck, as can best be determined by the Official and your group.

Lost Disc

QA-LOS-1: My throw was headed toward an OB lake when it went out of sight, and we never found it. Do I play it as lost, or as OB?

If your group agrees that there is compelling evidence that the disc went into the OB lake, then you assume that that is what happened, and play it as OB. If there is uncertainty about whether it went in the lake, then you play it as lost.

Putting Area

QA-PUT-1: If I’m straddle putting, does my other foot have to be on a line perpendicular to my lie?

No. Your other foot can be as close to the target as the back of your marker. So, your other foot does not have to be directly to the side of the foot behind the marker. In fact, the foot behind your marker can be as much as 30cm back (the length of the lie) and/or 10cm to the side (half of the lie’s 20cm width), which means that your other foot can actually be closer to the target. It just can’t be closer than the back of your marker. Also remember that the shape that marks the same distance to the target as the back of your marker is a circle whose center is the target.


QA-OB-1: My favorite driver went OB. Can I retrieve it for my next shot?

Yes, as long as you make your next throw within the 30 seconds allowed by the Excessive Time rule.

QA-OB-2: My drive went into an OB pond which is surrounded by tall reeds. One meter from where the disc was last in-bounds puts me in the middle of the reeds. Can I just go back to the tee?

Yes. Going back to the previous lie is one of the OB options. Alternatively, you could declare an abandoned throw with the same result. You can also take optional relief back along the line of play (without it costing you an additional penalty throw) because you would be taking optional relief following a penalty for out-of-bounds. That is probably your best option.

QA-OB-3: My disc hit a flexible fence from the OB side. Was the disc briefly over in-bounds when the fence flexed, or perhaps by having slightly penetrated a hole in the fence?

No. The fence defines an OB plane which flexes as the fence flexes. Unless the disc has penetrated and remained lodged within the fence, the fence is considered to be a continuous impenetrable surface. Your disc was not in-bounds at any point when it struck the fence.

QA-OB-4: My disc went OB. Can I use the optional relief rule to mark my lie back along the line of play, instead of one meter from OB?

Optional relief is available for free (without adding a penalty throw) after a throw that results in a penalty throw and that requires placement of a lie (such as OB or above two meters). First relief is taken as specified in 806.02.D, then optional relief is taken straight back on the line of play (803.02.D,E). A player may not take one meter of relief from OB after taking optional relief even if the relocated lie is near an OB line.

QA-OB-5: My throw landed next to an OB creek. It’s hard to tell whether the disc is in the creek or not since the edge of the creek comes up into some mud and grass. Another player went up to my disc and pushed it down to see if there’s water underneath. Is my disc now automatically in-bounds because another player touched it?

No. If you move your possibly OB disc, it is automatically OB. But there is no corresponding rule that makes it automatically in-bounds (nor automatically out-of-bounds) if someone else moves it. If that happens, you restore your disc to its approximate position as agreed upon by your group.

QA-OB-6: A player in my group foot-faulted and was called on it (and seconded). Their throw went OB. Do they get a warning, a penalty, or two penalties?

A player’s first stance violation results in a penalty throw. In this case, there were multiple violations. Normally, the first violation to occur is the one that counts. In this case, that’s the foot fault (though it doesn’t really matter as it’s one penalty throw either way). There’s no re-throw, so the disc is played as OB. Since a player cannot receive penalty throws for multiple violations on a single throw, there’s just one penalty throw.

QA-OB-7: The rules say you can mark relative to where the disc “last crossed into OB”. At what point does that happen? For example, a disc may fly above the OB line for a while. Is that point where part of the disc first crossed the line, or when the entire disc crossed the line?

It’s when the entire disc crossed the line. To be super-technical, since the disc is a circle, there will be a single point of last contact with the inner edge of the OB line. That is the point you use for marking.

Casual Area

QA-CAS-1: My disc landed in a creek that has been declared casual. May I place a rock or a broken limb behind my mark, to stand on in order to keep my feet dry?

No. If you choose not to take casual relief back along the line of play, then you must take your stance as you would anywhere else on the course. The only time you are allowed to move obstacles is to move casual obstacles out of your lie. If you do not want to play the lie as is, or take casual relief, you can take optional relief, or abandon the throw, at the cost of a penalty throw.

QA-CAS-2: Does the term “body of water” in the casual relief rule include bodies of ice and snow?

No. “Casual water” as listed in the rules is water as it’s commonly understood, in its liquid form. The rules do not grant casual relief from snow, ice, or even steam should you encounter it. Note that the Director can announce that ice or snow are casual obstacles, in which case they may be moved if they are on or behind your lie.

Completing the Hole

QA-COM-1: If I have a drop-in, do I need to throw the disc in, or can I just place it in the tray and let go?

You can place it in the tray, but you must release it and let it come to rest before retrieving it. A release is a required part of a throw, so merely touching the chains or the tray with your putter is not a throw and does not complete the hole.

QA-COM-2: I putted and my disc stayed on top of the basket. Now what?

You have not completed the hole. Mark your lie below the disc and continue.

QA-COM-3: I putted and my disc wound up in a horizontal position on top of the tray’s rim, spanning two nubs. Does it count?


QA-COM-4: Everyone in my group watched my soft putter push through the side of the basket and come to rest completely inside of it, not wedged at all. They said the putt was no good. Is it a made putt?

Yes. The flight of the disc does not matter. If it is supported by the tray or the chains below the chain support, the hole is complete.

QA-COM-5: As I release a putt, I push off from my back foot so that after release I am balanced on my front foot. I typically freeze there for a couple of seconds, then swing my back foot forward and continue toward the hole. Is that a foot fault?

It’s hard to say. To demonstrate “full control of balance” the player must perform some action that breaks up the flow of movement toward the target after release, before proceeding toward the target. Some examples of actions that could demonstrate balance might be: (1) a clear pause and display of balance, (2) placement of the back foot on the ground behind the mark, or (3) retrieval of the marker disc. The key to all of those is to show balance and control of your body behind the mark before moving forward. The best course of action is to leave no room for doubt, which is easy to do if you are indeed in control of your body after you’ve released the putt.

QA-COM-6: My disc was resting in the chains, and I let the next player putt. Their putt knocked my disc out of the basket and onto the ground. Do I need to make another throw to complete the hole?

No. Once your disc came to rest supported by the basket, you completed the hole. You can pick up your disc and go to the next hole.

QA-COM-7: On a blind hole, I threw a fast, stable disc that skipped hard toward the basket. When we walked up, we found it wedged in the front of the tray. Does it count as completing the hole?

Yes. If the disc is supported by the tray or the chains below the chain support, the hole is complete.


QA-SCO-1: Is there a penalty for failing to record a score for a particular hole, even if the total is correct?

Yes. Scorecards submitted without a score marked for a hole are incorrect and will have two penalty throws added to the correct total score.

QA-SCO-2: A member of my group kept a paper scorecard, and their own round and hole scores are correct. However, the other players’ scores are not anything like what everyone else actually threw. Because the penalty for a player's incorrect scorecard only applies to the score for that player, can they do that?

They are not penalized if there is a simple mistake for another player's score, but randomly writing numbers down is not keeping score, and that player could be subject to disqualification by the tournament director. Players need to make a good faith effort at keeping score and totaling up the scorecard correctly. At the end of the round, the group should reconcile any differences between their scorecards before they are submitted. That cannot be done if someone is not keeping an accurate scorecard.

Abandoned Throw

QA-ABA-1: How does Abandoned Throw work? How is it different from the old Optional Re-throw?

Abandoning a throw means that (except for being added to the score) the throw never happened. The original throw plus one penalty throw are counted in your score. When you abandon a throw, the resulting lie is disregarded, and any penalties incurred by that throw are disregarded as well.

QA-ABA-2: On a short, easy hole, I shanked my drive into a dense forest, and it stuck high up in a tree. The two-meter rule is in effect. I’d rather re-tee than play from in the forest. Will I be throwing 3, or 4?

You will be throwing 3 after declaring that you are abandoning your drive. You count your original throw and add one penalty throw for abandoning that throw. Penalties incurred by an abandoned throw are not counted.



After throwing and picking up my marker I realize that I want to abandon the throw. Can I still do that even though that lie is no longer marked?


Yes, just have your group agree on an approximate lie from which the abandoned throw was made and play from there.

Provisional Throw

QA-PRO-1: What is the provisional throw rule and when should it be used?

A provisional throw is used when a player disagrees with the group’s ruling and no Official is available, or when it might save time in case of a possible lost or OB disc, or missed mandatory. Provisional throws allow play to continue by deferring the ruling until the status of the disc in question can be determined, or an Official is available to settle the matter. In the case where a ruling is disputed or uncertain, a player may have to play out from both the original and the provisional throws, essentially completing two legs. Once a ruling has been made, only the throws for the correct leg are counted.

Practice Throw

QA-PRA-1: After marking my lie, I lobbed my putter about 3 meters toward my bag. It hit my bag, kicked up, and rolled about 10 meters down a hill. Was that a practice throw?

No. A throw of less than five meters (in the air) to return a disc is not a practice throw.

QA-PRA-2: My friend left an unused disc near the tee. I picked it up and saw them on the next hole, so I threw it to them. They were about 30 meters away. Was that a practice throw?

Yes. It traveled more than five meters in the air, so it was a practice throw, regardless of the purpose of the throw.

QA-PRA-3: A player in my group was angry after having missed a short putt. After completing the hole, they putted hard into the chains from about two meters away. Was that a practice throw?

Yes. The throw was not made as a competitive throw, nor was it made to set aside an unused disc or to return a disc to a player. That makes it a practice throw.


QA-INT-1: My disc was stuck in a tree far above two meters (with the two-meter rule in effect), when another player’s throw knocked it to the ground. Where is my lie, and am I subject to a two-meter penalty throw?

The interference rules state that a disc that has been moved is played relative to where it first came to rest. Since that was clearly above two meters, you are subject to a penalty throw just as if the disc had stayed in the tree.


QA-MIS-1: My group played a hole that is not part of the tournament course. What is the penalty?

If the hole was played in place of a hole that is part of the course, then two penalty throws are added to each of the scores for that hole. If the hole was played in addition to the holes that make up the course, two penalty throws are added to each player’s total score (the scores for the extra hole are disregarded).

QA-MIS-2: I threw from another player’s disc by accident. Was that a foot fault, or a misplay?

That’s a misplay because the wrong lie was used. A foot fault, or stance violation, presumes that the correct lie is being used but that the player missed it when throwing.

QA-MIS-3: I missed a mandatory on my drive, but we didn’t realize it until after I had made another throw. What do I do?

Your second throw was a misplay because you made it from an incorrect lie. It should have been made from the drop zone (or from the tee if there is no drop zone). Since you caught your mistake after a single misplayed throw, you don’t count or play that misplayed throw. Instead, you get one penalty throw for the misplay. Your next throw is from the correct lie for the missed mandatory. The penalty for missing the mandatory still applies since it was made before the throw that was a misplay.

QA-MIS-4: After the scorecard was submitted, I realized that I had not finished a hole that I had started. What’s the penalty?

The penalty is two throws, as stated in 811.C. An additional throw is added (based on 811.F.2) to represent the final throw on the hole that was not completed. The score for that hole is the number of throws that were made, plus two throws for the penalty, plus one more for completing the hole.

QA-MIS-5: I had stomach pains in the middle of my round and had to find a restroom. I was in there long enough that my group played a hole without me. Can I rejoin them and take a penalty for the hole I missed?

Yes. See 811.F.4 and 811.F.5 on how to handle this.

QA-MIS-6: I got to the course late, after the two-minute signal, and found out I had been assigned to hole 12, which is all the way on the other side of the park. There’s no way I could get there in time, so I was looking at getting par plus four for missing the hole. Then I noticed that hole 3, which is close, only had a threesome. If I join them, I get two penalty throws for starting on the wrong hole and/or in the wrong group, saving two strokes. Clever, right?

Not so much. Intentionally misplaying a hole to your advantage can get you disqualified. Any throws played with the wrong starting group are disregarded. You need to find your assigned group.

QA-MIS-7: My disc landed in a basket target that is not the correct target for the hole being played. What do I do next?

Treat the target like any other obstacle and mark your lie on the playing surface below the disc (805.01.C) and throw your next throw. If you find that you mistakenly have played the next hole (or finished the round) without finishing the hole correctly, then you have failed to complete a hole. See 811.F.2.


QA-COU-1: A rival of mine likes to play head games, for example by telling me my score for the round, that they think I will make or miss a putt, etc. Can I call a courtesy violation on them?

Maybe. Though being a jerk isn’t explicitly listed as a courtesy violation, any action that is “distracting or unsportsmanlike” can be penalized. You will need to decide if the player’s behavior is bad enough to call. Short of that, it is something you, your group, and/or other players will have to work out with them. If the behavior is bad enough, or there’s a pattern of it for that player, you can notify the TD and/or the PDGA Disciplinary Committee.


QA-EQU-1: Can I use rangefinders?

Yes, but you must still throw within the 30 seconds allowed by the Excessive Time rule.

QA-EQU-2: Are remaindered discs (X-ed out discs, factory seconds, hot stamp rejects, etc.) of PDGA-approved models legal for use in PDGA competitions?

Yes. They are legal for PDGA play as long as they also meet the overall restrictions (weight, rim sharpness, flexibility, etc.) as outlined by the PDGA Technical Standards document. Players always have the right to question the legality of a disc used in competition. In such cases the TD will make the final call.

QA-EQU-3: I left my favorite putter in the car. Can my friend go get it for me during the round?

Yes. You are allowed to add discs to your bag after the round has started. Make sure the errand does not distract other players and that you don’t violate the Excessive Time rule. The best time to do that is between holes.

QA-EQU-4: I’m a converted ultimate player and I like to wear friction gloves when I play disc golf. Are those allowed?

Yes. Gloves are specifically allowed by 813.02.C as a device that controls abrasion.

QA-EQU-5: My disc landed in a spot that has very hard, rocky ground. May I place a towel or pad down in order to protect my knee?

Yes. You may place a towel or a small pad which is less than 1cm thick when compressed on the lie, including within a drop zone or teeing area.

QA-EQU-6: Can I take my disc, tuck the rim into itself, and throw it like a ball?

No, this is a post-production modification which alters the original flight characteristics (813.01.C.1). The disc is no longer in a round, saucer-like configuration required by the Technical Standards. Even though the modification may be temporary, it is illegal to throw the disc while in this configuration.

Match Play

QA-MAT-1: My opponent conceded a putt, but I’d still like to throw the putt to keep my putting stroke fresh. Can I do that?

No. Once your opponent concedes a throw, you have completed the hole. A throw after that is a practice throw. The penalty for a practice throw is added to the number of throws it takes you to complete the next hole.

Doubles and Team Play

QA-DOU-1: My doubles partner threw an approach shot using the thrown disc as the marker. Can I mark it with a mini for my throw?

No. Team members must use a single marking method to mark the lie and mark the lie only once.

Competition Manual

QA-CMP-1: Can women play in any division?

A woman may play in any division as long as she meets the qualification criteria for that division. There are no divisions that are restricted to men only.

QA-CMP-2: What happens if a group starts play before the official signal is given?

If a group mistakenly starts play early and then hears the official start signal, they return to the tee and start over. None of those throws count as practice throws even if made after the two-minute signal. If the group actually started early but never heard the official start signal, their scores stand as thrown with no penalties.